Memories and Homage to the seed

This started as a facebook post which just got too big and needed its own space for me to put images and write about.  It is a for  Sophie Munns from the wonderful ‘Homage to the seed‘ facebook page who who fills my feed with amazing images of seedy goodness and painted some beautiful images of ‘Petri dishes of imagined seeds’   12509364_1162757213752169_7941544026116259823_nImage by Sophie Munns from Homage to the seed facebook page
(I hope you dont mind me putting you image here as I cant link directly to facebook)

they took me down memory lane to when I was hand printing hundreds of pollen samples for the geography department at Monash Uni.  so many amazing shapes and designs straight from nature they made me cross eyed and after a while I would start to see little faces in them….

pollen01.jpgSELECTED POLLEN TYPES FROM THE ATHERTON TABLELANDS, NORTHEAST QUEENSLAND, AUSTRALIA (LAKE EURAMOO – all photographs taken by AP Kershaw Palynology at Monash)

Emeritus Professors Peter Kershaw is a Palynologist and it was a honour to work with him… Palynology: This study area is concerned with the reconstruction of past environments and biological communities from the study of pollen, diatoms, beetles and other organic materials preserved in accumulated sediments of bogs, lakes and marine environments.

Seeing these images also reminded me of the amazing Klaus Kemp, master of the Victorian art of diatom arrangement and the wonderful video ‘THE DIATOMIST’ which just blows my mind….

&nbsp

Leave a Reply

